Posted by: Sarah Kemp | April 19, 2009

Phone-A-Thon

My Sorority at Georgia Southern, Phi Mu, just recently held a phone-a-thon for Phi Mu Foundation and raised $62,200 to go to the foundation. The foundation supports educational opportunities, philanthropy, and fund raising for Phi Mu.

The Foundation raises funds to help meet the educational and leadership development needs of collegians and alumnae. More than 3,100 donors annually support the relevant work of our Foundation.

Phi Mu Foundation preserves our history of yesterday, provides grants and scholarships for educational and leadership development needs of today and prudently manages our donors contributions to provide for our members forever.

3120_632107744181_33022430_36711043_5321376_n

3120_632107709251_33022430_36711037_3262229_n

My sisters and I called our alumnae across the United States and asked them to pledge any amount to the Phi Mu Foundation. We were overwhelmingly surprised after just the first day, we were receiving thousands of dollars in pledges to our foundation! Not only did we beat our chapter’s personal goal of $50,000, we also beat Alabama’s Phi Mu chapters total from last years phone-a-thon! We are so proud of our efforts of our chapter and our alumnae across the U.S.! The money will go to great causes including out National philanthropy, The Children’s Miracle Network and great educational opportunities for Phi Mu’s.

Follow Phi Mu Foundation on Twitter… @Foundation1852

Responses

  1. I’m glad I came across this post. I think it’s great how you all get together and raise money for your philanthropy. 62,200 is a great number and you guys should be really proud. With that being said, I have to tell you a funny story about you’re 2010 Phone-A-Thon. One of your Phi Mu representatives (a.k.a. Allison Paine) called me as a joke asking for money. We laughed then hung up, blah, blah. So I waited a few hours and I called the number back that called me. I pretended to be an old Phi Mu named Ethel and said that I wanted to donate a million dollars, but I couldn’t figure out how to put my check through the phone. If you can imagine Allison was very confused and had no idea how to handle the situation. Eventually I told her it was me. She didn’t think it was as funny as I did.

  2. In response to this post and Jeremy’s comment. I was next to Allison when she received this call from Ethel. Ethel had forgotten her check book and wanted to donate one million dollars. Oh Watruba is so silly. As much as I complain about taking 4 hours out of my busy week to do phone-a-thon it was actually really fun. It is so exciting to get another Phi Mu on the phone who wants to donate. The Phi Mu on the other line can be as far a California and they are actually happy to talk to you. I even spoke to a woman who donated 100 dollars and she told me all about her new born baby girl. It was neat making that connection over the phone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

